Friday, November 16, 2007

Gelatin - What is it made from?

Here are some descriptions of gelatin.

Gelatin: is made from collagen extracted from the bones and connective tissues of animals such as the domesticated cattle, pigs and horses

Gelatin: a colorless water-soluble glutinous protein obtained from animal tissues such as bone and skin

Gelatin is a setting agent, derived from animals, available as a powder or a sheet.

That's why for vegetarians it is preferable to use agar-agar, a type of seaweed used in the same way as gelatin.

No comments: